## AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING THE ADOPTION OF ZONING AND PLANNING IN THE TOWN OF LEBANON, CREATING A PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION AND PROVIDING FOR ITS APPOINTMENT AND ELECTION

December 18, 1961

Be it ordained by the Electors of the Town of Lebanon at a duly warned Town Meeting: Section I. The provisions of Chapter 124 (Zoning of the General Statutes of the State of Connecticut, Revision of 1958, as amended, are hereby adopted.

Section II. A. There shall be a Zoning Commission of the Town of Lebanon to consist of five (5) members who shall be electors of the Town of Lebanon and shall hold no salaried municipal office.

B. The following are hereby appointed as the original members of the Zoning Commission of the Town of Lebanon for the following terms: Jared S. Hinckley until the Annual Election to be held on the first Monday of October 1964; Joseph Pierz and Harold Krause until the Annual Election to be held on the first Monday of October 1963; Earl Squires and John Petrofsky until the Annual Election to be held on the first Monday of October 1962. Thereafter as the term of each member of the Zoning Commission expires, the successor or successors shall be elected at the Annual Election of the Town of Lebanon to serve for a term of three (3) years.

C. In the event any member of the Zoning Commission shall cease to be a resident of the Town of Lebanon, his office shall be deemed vacant. A vacancy from whatever cause arising shall be filled by the Zoning Commission for the unexpired portion of the term by the appointment of an elector of the Town of Lebanon of the same political party as his predecessor.

Section III. A. There is hereby created a Zoning Board of Appeals consisting of five (5) regular members and three (3) alternate members, who shall be electors of the Town of Lebanon.

B. Abraham Aspinall and Margaret Sellick are hereby appointed as regular members and Arnold Bender is hereby appointed as an alternate member of the Zoning Board of Appeals until the Annual Election to be held on the first Monday of October 1964; Earl S. Russ and Hollis R. Cummings are hereby appointed as regular members and Clarence G. Geer is hereby appointed as an alternate member of the Zoning Board of Appeals until the Annual Election to be held on the first Monday of October 1963; and Frederick H. Buckley is hereby appointed as a regular member and Richard C. Williams is hereby appointed as an alternate member of the Zoning Board of Appeals until the Annual Election to be held on the first Monday of October 1962; and thereafter as the term of each regular or alternate member of the Zoning Board of Appeals expires, the successor or successors shall be elected at the annual election of the Town of Lebanon to serve for a term of three (3) years.

Section IV. The provisions of Chapter 128 (Municipal Planning Commission) of the General Statutes of the State of Connecticut, Revision of 1958, as amended are hereby adopted.

The Zoning Commission of the Town of Lebanon is hereby designated as the Planning and Zoning Commission of the Town of Lebanon, and shall have all the powers and duties of both a Planning Commission and a Zoning Commission as provided by the General Statutes of the State of Connecticut as amended.

The Planning and Zoning Commission of the Town of Lebanon shall consist of seven (7) members who

shall be the five (5) members of the Zoning Commission previously appointed and in addition thereto David H. Fields and Harold Liebman who shall serve for the term until the Annual Election to be held on the first Monday of October 1964 and thereafter, their successors shall be elected at the Annual Election of the Town of Lebanon to serve for a term of three (3) years.

Section V. In the ensuing elections no political party shall have more than a bare majority on the Zoning Board and the Zoning Board of Appeals.

Section VI. This ordinance shall take effect fifteen (15) days after publication in accordance with the General Statutes.